Frank Marshall

Frank Marshall

The Kennedy/Marshall Company

With a career spanning more than 40 years and over 75 films, Frank Marshall has helped shape American cinema, producing some of the most successful and enduring films of all time. Starting as a location manager on Peter Bogdanovich’s The Last Picture Show, by 1981 Marshall was working as a producer on Raiders of the Lost Ark with Steven Spielberg and future wife Kathleen Kennedy. Shortly thereafter, the trio formed industry powerhouse Amblin Entertainment, and together produced movies such as Gremlins, the Back to the Future trilogy, Who Framed Roger Rabbit?, Hook, and Empire of the Sun.

In 1991, Marshall and Kennedy left Amblin to form their own production company, The Kennedy/Marshall Company, where they produced The Sixth Sense, Signs, Seabiscuit, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, War Horse, and all four films in the Bourne series. In 2012, Marshall took over as sole principal of the company when partner Kathleen Kennedy became Chairman of Lucasfilm, Ltd.

Marshall has 5 Academy Award nominations for Best Picture, including Raiders of the Lost Ark, The Color Purple, The Sixth Sense, Seabiscuit, and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

In addition to his prolific producing career, Marshall is also an acclaimed director, having helmed Arachnophobia, Eight Below, Alive, Congo, an episode from the HBO miniseries “From the Earth to the Moon,” and the award-winning ESPN documentary Right to Play.

Marshall’s interests also extend beyond film. For over a decade, Marshall was a vice president of the US Olympic Committee; in 2005, he was awarded the Olympic Shield and was inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame in 2008 for his service to the Olympic movement. He serves on the Board of Athletes for Hope, USA Track & Field Foundation, and USA Gymnastics. He is also involved in the educational arena through the UCLA School of Theatre, Film and Television, and The Archer School for Girls.

He is a recipient of UCLA’s Alumni Professional Achievement Award, the 2008 Producers Guild of America’s David O. Selznick Award for Career Achievement, as well as the 2009 Visual Effects Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award.